Tianna Hall & Chris Cortez

available for purchase on iTunes & from

As one critic stated, ‘Tianna Hall is giving this year's holiday divas some fierce competition. The Houston jazz singer, along with guitarist Chris Cortez, gets in the Christmas spirit with "Noel," a smooth, silky collection of well-worn classics, including "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town," "The Christmas Song" and "Santa Baby." The highlight is a gorgeous reading of "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?" It's as warm and comfy as a sweater.’ And that about sums it up. This is an unexpectedly terrific selection of Christmas music offered by one gifted singer surrounded by exemplary colleagues.

Instead of the usual fare this CD offers affine mix of well-known up beat Christmas oldies and some new works well worth noting. But first the company: Vocals - Tianna Hall, Guitar, Additional Vocals - Chris Cortez, Bass - Anthony Sapp, Piano - Paul English, Vibraphone, Drums - Tom Cummings, Trumpet – Dennis Dotson, Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet – Woody Witt, Alto Saxophone, Flute – Warren Sneed, Trombone, Bass Trombone – Thomas Hultén, with special guests Joel Fulgham – Drums and Memo Reza – Drums

The tracks are as follows: The Angels Arr. by Mark Piszczek

A Child Is Born/Christmas Time Is Here – by Thad Jones, Vince Guaraldi, Lee Mendelson, Arr. by Mark Piszczek

Santa Claus Is Coming To Town by J Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie, Arr. by Chris Cortez

The Christmas Song by Mel Tormé, Bob Wells, Arr. by Mark Piszczek

We Three Kings by Reverend John Henry Hopkins, Jr, Arr. by Mark Piszczek

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (instrumental) Arr. by Chris Cortez

Oh Come Oh Come Emmanuel – by John Mason Neale and Henry Sloane Coffin, Arr. by Mark Piszczek

Santa Baby by Joan Javits, Philip Springer. Tony Springer, Arr. by Chris Cortez

What Are You Doing New Years Eve? by Frank Loesser, Arr. by Mark Piszczek

Kick back, soak in the holiday joy and be amazed by a solid ensemble of joy. Tianna Hall and Chris Cortez AMAZE!

Read more… close
  1. 1 The Angels 05:00
  2. 2 A Child Is Born / Christmastime Is Here 08:04
  3. 3 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 03:00
  4. 4 The Christmas Song 04:46
  5. 5 We Three Kings 05:31
  6. 6 God Rest Ye Merry Gentrlemen (intrumental) 03:20
  7. 7 Oh Come Oh Come Emmanuel 05:04
  8. 8 Santa Baby 03:16
  9. 9 What Are You Doing New Years Eve? 04:44